# Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-25-077-teaching-health-center-graduate-medical-education-thcgme/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/355065

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to colleges and universities and tribes. It expected to make about 41 awards worth $80.0 million in total. Applications closed on September 20, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-25-077 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | September 20, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 41 |
| Total funding | $80.0 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.530 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

You can apply if you are a community-based ambulatory patient care center that operates anaccredited primary care residency program, or has formed a GME consortium that operatesan accredited primary care residency program, in one of the following specialties/disciplines:• Family Medicine• Internal Medicine• Pediatrics• Internal Medicine-Pediatrics• Obstetrics and Gynecology• Psychiatry• General Dentistry• Pediatric Dentistry• Geriatrics

## What the grant funds

The purpose of the THCGME Program is to support the training of residents in primary care residency training programs in community-based ambulatory patient care centers. These residency programs will prepare residents to provide high-quality care, particularly in rural and underserved communities, and develop competencies to serve these diverse populations and communities. These notices announce the opportunity to apply for funding under the THCGME Program. This funding will support both the direct expenses associated with sponsoring approved graduate medical residency training programs and indirect expenses associated with the additional costs relating to teaching residents in residency training programs. Two award types are available: 1. Expansion awards for an increased number of resident Full-Time Equivalent (FTE) positions at existing HRSA THCGME Programs. 2. New awards to support new resident FTE positions at new Teaching Health Centers (THCs). New THCs are those applicants seeking funding for residency programs that have never received payment under the HRSA THCGME Program for the applicable residency program in any previous fiscal year. As described in 340H(h)(2)(B), all resident FTEs for whom THCGME support is requested must be above the program’s resident FTE baseline and must not put the program above the number approved by or awaiting approval by, the relevant accrediting body. Please review program objectives for more information.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-25-077 still open?

No. It closed on September 20, 2024. A newer notice is open: HRSA-27-017, closes December 11, 2026 (34 days left).

### Who can apply for Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from colleges and universities and tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program?

Closed September 20, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $80.0 million in total across about 41 awards.

### Who has won Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education Payment grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Wright Center for Graduate Medical Education, Osteopathic Medical Education Consortium of Oklahoma, Inc, Detroit Wayne County Health Authority. The program made 335 awards worth $966 million in that time.
