# Black Lung Clinics Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-25-040-black-lung-clinics-program/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/355370

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. It expected to make about 15 awards worth $12.0 million in total. Applications closed on February 11, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-25-040 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | February 11, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 15 |
| Total funding | $12.0 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.965 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

These types of domestic* organizations may apply: Public institutions of higher education. Private institutions of higher education. Nonprofits with or without a 501(c)(3) IRS status. For-profit organizations, including small businesses. State, county, city, township, and special district governments, including the District of Columbia, domestic territories, and the freely associated states. This includes state health departments. Independent school districts. Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC), community health centers, Rural Health Clinics (RHCs) and hospitals, including Rural Emergency Hospitals Native American tribal governments Native American tribal organizations Applicant organizations that are federally recognized tribes or tribal organizations are eligible to apply if conducting all proposed activities within federally recognized tribal areas. Documentation of federally recognized tribal status must be included for this consideration provided in [attachment 1]. Individuals are not eligible applicants under this NOFO. * Domestic means the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau.

## What the grant funds

The Black Lung Clinic Program’s primary goal is to reduce the morbidity and mortality associated with occupation related coal mine dust lung disease (CMDLD), also known as black lung disease, by providing: •Medical services. •Outreach services. •Educational services. •Benefits counseling services. All recipients are required to provide certain services to coal miners in their service area. We also provide additional requirements to the minimum required services, to make sure that the quality and breadth of services coal miners receive is sustained in all service areas.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-25-040 still open?

No. It closed on February 11, 2025.

### Who can apply for Black Lung Clinics Program?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Black Lung Clinics Program?

Closed February 11, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $12.0 million in total across about 15 awards.

### Who has won Coal Miners Respiratory Impairment Treatment Clinics and Services grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, University of Illinois, St. Charles Health Council, Inc. The program made 18 awards worth $58.0 million in that time.
