# Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-24-051-teaching-health-center-graduate-medical-education-thcgme/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/349139

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to nonprofits, tribes and businesses. It expected to make about 57 awards worth $127 million in total. Applications closed on January 12, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-24-051 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 12, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 57 |
| Total funding | $127 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.530 |

## Who can apply

- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

An eligible entity is a current THCGME Program payment recipient that was awarded funding under HRSA-20-011 that: i. Operates an accredited primary care residency program. Specific examples of eligible outpatient settings include, but are not limited to: Federally qualified health centers, as defined in section 1905(l)(2)(B) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1396d(l)(2)(B)]; Community mental health centers, as defined in section 1861(ff)(3)(B) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1395x(ff)(3)(B)]; Rural health clinics, as defined in section 1861(aa)(2) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1395x(aa)(2)]; Health centers operated by the Indian Health service, an Indian tribe or tribal organization, or an urban Indian organization (as defined in section 4 of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act [25 U.S.C. 1603]); and A community-based entity receiving funds under Title X of the PHS Act. The list of entities above is not exhaustive but does reflect the intent of the program to provide training in settings such as those served by the institutions listed.

## What the grant funds

This notice announces the opportunity to apply for continuation awards to support maintenance of filled resident Full-Time Equivalent (FTE) positions that are funded by HRSA under announcement HRSA-20-011. Note: application through this FY 2024 Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) will extend the period of performance for positions funded under HRSA-20-011 for an additional four (4) years. The purpose of the THCGME opportunity is to provide funding to support the training of residents in primary care residency training programs in community-based ambulatory patient care centers. These residency programs will prepare residents to provide high quality care, particularly in rural and underserved communities, and develop competencies to serve these diverse populations and communities. Funding through this opportunity will support maintenance of approved HRSA-funded resident FTE positions for existing HRSATHCGME Program payment recipients only. Applications seeking support for an expanded number of resident FTE positions and/or establishment of new resident FTE positions will not be considered under this notice. Awards made through this notice may be used to support the costs associated with resident FTE training only. THCGME Program funds may not be used for residency program development (e.g., the costs associated with accreditation). Funds from a THCGME award may not be used to replace or supplant funds that have been provided from a different source (e.g., any Federal, state, local, tribal, non-profit, or for-profit entity) for the same resident FTE’s time. THCGME funds must be used for program activities. Such replacement or supplanting may be grounds for suspension or termination of current and future federal awards, recovery of misused federal funds, and/or other remedies available by law. Organizations applying for continued support for more than one residency program must submit a separate application for each unique program.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-24-051 still open?

No. It closed on January 12, 2024. A newer notice is open: HRSA-27-017, closes December 11, 2026 (34 days left).

### Who can apply for Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from nonprofits, tribes and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program?

Closed January 12, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $127 million in total across about 57 awards.

### Who has won Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education Payment grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Wright Center for Graduate Medical Education, Osteopathic Medical Education Consortium of Oklahoma, Inc, Detroit Wayne County Health Authority. The program made 335 awards worth $966 million in that time.
