# Poison Control Centers Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-24-045-poison-control-centers-program/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/349428

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to state and local governments and tribes. It expected to make about 52 awards worth $24.8 million in total. Applications closed on May 1, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-24-045 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | May 1, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 52 |
| Total funding | $24.8 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.253 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

You can apply if your organization is in the United States, territory, or compact of free association and is: Accredited by a professional organization in the field of poison control and complying with the operational requirements needed to sustain accreditation; Accredited by a state government that has standards for accreditation that reasonably provide for the protection of the public health with respect to poisoning; or Granted a waiver by the Secretary if the center can reasonably demonstrate that the center will obtain such an accreditation within a reasonable time, as determined appropriate by the Secretary. The only professional organization currently approved to provide accreditation is Americas Poison Centers (the Association). Unaccredited poison control centers (PCCs) are eligible for a grant waiver if they can demonstrate that they will obtain accreditation within a reasonable time, not to exceed 5 years. Native American tribal governments are eligible. Native American tribal organizations are eligible.

## What the grant funds

This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Poison Control Centers (PCC) Program. The goal of this program is to reduce poisonings and the harms resulting from poisonings by ensuring that individuals across the United States can connect to a Poison Control Center and obtain expert consultation on preventing and managing poisonings. The objectives of this program are to: 1. Support poisoning prevention activities; 2. Provide high-quality guidance and information to callers to the Poison Help Line; 3. Provide treatment recommendations when poisonings occur; 4. Collect data related to poisonings and poisoning outcomes; and 5. Use data to inform public health and emergency preparedness responses. These will be accomplished by: 1. Maintaining the number of calls received by the Poison Help Line. 2. Maintaining the percentage of human exposure poisoning case calls from health care facilities and practitioners. 3. Increasing the percentage of human exposure poisoning cases with a completed follow-up contact. 4. Increasing national data on poisonings available in the National Poison Data System (NPDS) for toxic exposure surveillance purposes.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-24-045 still open?

No. It closed on May 1, 2024.

### Who can apply for Poison Control Centers Program?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from state and local governments and tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Poison Control Centers Program?

Closed May 1, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $24.8 million in total across about 52 awards.

### Who has won Poison Center Support and Enhancement Grant grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco, New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation, MCHC-Chicago Hospital Council. The program made 54 awards worth $113 million in that time.
