# Nurse Faculty Loan Program (NFLP)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-24-015-nurse-faculty-loan-program-nflp/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/349134

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to nonprofits, colleges and universities and tribes. It expected to make about 90 awards worth $26.5 million in total. Applications closed on February 12, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-24-015 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | February 12, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 90 |
| Total funding | $26.5 million |
| Cost sharing | required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.264 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

You can apply if your organization is in the United States, the District of Columbia or in one of the US territories, and is: A domestic accredited school of nursing with advanced education nursing programs Any school(s) of nursing affiliated with this application must be accredited at the time of application and for the duration of the award by a recognized body or bodies, or a state agency, approved by the Secretary of Education for nurse education accreditation. Applicants must submit official documentation of accreditation in Attachment 1 for all affiliated nursing programs. A domestic community-based organization, tribe or tribal organization, if otherwise eligible Individuals are not eligible applicants

## What the grant funds

This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Nurse Faculty Loan Program (NFLP). The NFLP program seeks to increase the number of qualified nursing faculty nationwide by providing low interest loans for individuals studying to be nurse faculty and loan cancelation for those who then go on to work as faculty. A robust, geographically dispersed nurse faculty workforce is essential to producing the nursing workforce needed to meet US health care needs. Successful applicants establish and operate a student loan program including maintaining a fund, providing loans to students enrolled in advanced education nursing degree programs, and monitoring compliance with program requirements. In exchange for completion of up to four years of post-graduation full-time nurse faculty employment in an accredited school of nursing, graduates receive cancellation of up to 85 percent of the original student loan amount (plus interest thereon) as authorized by the program. Advance Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs) who serve as full-time preceptors within an academic-practice partnership framework are considered faculty under the NFLP, to support the expansion of clinical training opportunities for nursing students. For more details, see Program Requirements and Expectations.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-24-015 still open?

No. It closed on February 12, 2024.

### Who can apply for Nurse Faculty Loan Program (NFLP)?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities and tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Nurse Faculty Loan Program (NFLP)?

Closed February 12, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $26.5 million in total across about 90 awards.

### Who has won Nurse Faculty Loan Program (NFLP) grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Samford University, The Johns Hopkins University, Vanderbilt University Medical Center. The program made 134 awards worth $104 million in that time.
