# Health Center Program School-Based Service Expansion

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-23-097-health-center-program-school-based-service-expansion/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/346141

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 70 awards worth $25.0 million in total. Applications closed on March 31, 2023.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-23-097 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | March 31, 2023 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 70 |
| Total funding | $25.0 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.224 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Eligible applicants must: Be a Health Center Program award recipient9 with an active H80 grant award. Propose to operate a new school-based service site in your health centers current service area or currently operate a school-based service site, as evidenced by:o School Commitment Documentation signed by school or school district officials specifying support for each proposed new or existing school-based service site.o Form 5B: Service Sites indicates school site setting for each proposed new or existing school-based service site. Propose new and/or expanded services at one or more school-based service sites. If you do not already provide mental health services at each proposed school-based service site, you must propose to expand mental health services (in-person or virtual visit) at each proposed school-based service site.

## What the grant funds

This notice announces the opportunity for current Health Center Program award recipients to apply for funding under the FY 2023 Health Center Program School-Based Service Expansion (SBSE). The purpose of SBSE funding is to expand access to primary health care services, including mental health services, through Health Center Program award recipients’ new and/or existing service delivery sites located at or on the grounds of schools.1 For the purpose of this NOFO, such sites are referred to as school-based service sites. Health centers can use SBSE funding to establish their first school-based service site. Health centers may also choose to expand mental health and other primary health care services by adding a new school-based service site to their Health Center Program scope of project, expanding services at an existing school-based service site, or both. For more details, see Program Requirements and Expectations.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-23-097 still open?

No. It closed on March 31, 2023. A newer notice is forecast: HRSA-27-009, expected deadline January 8, 2027.

### Who can apply for Health Center Program School-Based Service Expansion?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Health Center Program School-Based Service Expansion?

Closed March 31, 2023. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $25.0 million in total across about 70 awards.

### Who has won Health Center Program grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Sun River Health, Inc., Family Health Centers of San Diego Inc, Yakima Valley Farm Workers Clinic. The program made 4,197 awards worth $21 billion in that time.
