# Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-23-091-dental-faculty-loan-repayment-program/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/341233

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to colleges and universities. It expected to make about 8 awards worth $800,000 in total. Applications closed on March 3, 2023.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-23-091 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | March 3, 2023 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 8 |
| Total funding | $800,000 |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.059 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Eligible entities are programs of general, pediatric, or public health dentistry in public or private nonprofit dental or dental hygiene schools, or approved residency or advanced education programs in the practice of general, pediatric, or public health dentistry. You must submit accreditation documentation for the relevant training program and a non-profit status IRS letter in Attachment 7, as identified in Section IV.5 of this NOFO. Current recipients of awards under the 2021 Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program (HRSA-21-019) and the 2022 Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program (HRSA-22-046) are not eligible to apply for this NOFO because they are still within their project period. Entities outside the United States and its territories are not eligible to apply for this NOFO. Tribes and tribal organizations are eligible if they otherwise meet the eligibility requirements.

## What the grant funds

The purpose of this program is to increase the number of dental and dental hygiene faculty in the workforce by assisting dental and dental hygiene training programs to attract and retain dental and dental hygiene faculty through the operation of a loan repayment program. For more details, see Program Requirements and Expectations. The goals of this program are to: 1) Reduce the faculty burden of qualified educational debt payments through participation in the institutionally developed loan repayment program. 2) Encourage long-term employment in a dental academic setting through loan repayment. 3) Develop a continuous evaluation mechanism to identify and address concerns of the program participants and assess and improve program performance.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-23-091 still open?

No. It closed on March 3, 2023.

### Who can apply for Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program?

Closed March 3, 2023. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $800,000 in total across about 8 awards.

### Who has won Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health Dentistry grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Trustees of Boston University, East Carolina University. The program made 108 awards worth $110 million in that time.
