# Teaching Health Center Planning and Development Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-23-015-teaching-health-center-planning-and-development-program/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/341230

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 47 awards worth $23.5 million in total. Applications closed on December 12, 2022.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-23-015 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | December 12, 2022 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 47 |
| Total funding | $23.5 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.530 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

An eligible entity is a community-based ambulatory patient care center that: i. Will operate an accredited primary care residency program. Specific examples of eligible outpatient settings include, but are not limited to: ? Federally qualified health centers, as defined in section 1905(l)(2)(B) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1396d(l)(2)(B)]; ? Community mental health centers, as defined in section 1861(ff)(3)(B) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1395x(ff)(3)(B)]; ? Rural health clinics, as defined in section 1861(aa)(2) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1395x(aa)(2)]; ? Health centers operated by the Indian Health Service, an Indian tribe or tribal organization, or an urban Indian organization (as defined in section 4 of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act [25 U.S.C. 1603]); and ? An entity receiving funds under Title X of the PHS Act. The list of entities above is not exhaustive, but does reflect the intent of the program to provide training in community-based settings such as those served by the institutions listed.

## What the grant funds

This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Teaching Health Center Planning and Development (THCPD) Program. The purpose of this grant program is to make awards to establish new accredited community-based primary care medical or dental residency programs and residency programs in family medicine, internal medicine, pediatrics, internal medicine-pediatrics, psychiatry, obstetrics and gynecology, general dentistry, pediatric dentistry, or geriatrics to address shortages in the primary care physician and dental workforce shortages and challenges faced by in rural and underserved communities. This NOFO will support the establishment of approved graduate medical and dental residency training programs for physicians and dentists. This program aims to increase primary care physician and dental residency training in community-based patient care settings by providing funds to support the development of new programs in these settings, which are often located in underserved areas where resources may not be easily attainable. As such, THCPD funding may only be utilized to support the development of new physician and dental accredited residency programs within the disciplines listed above and throughout this NOFO.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-23-015 still open?

No. It closed on December 12, 2022. A newer notice is open: HRSA-27-017, closes December 11, 2026 (34 days left).

### Who can apply for Teaching Health Center Planning and Development Program?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Teaching Health Center Planning and Development Program?

Closed December 12, 2022. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $23.5 million in total across about 47 awards.

### Who has won Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education Payment grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Wright Center for Graduate Medical Education, Osteopathic Medical Education Consortium of Oklahoma, Inc, Detroit Wayne County Health Authority. The program made 335 awards worth $966 million in that time.
