# Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-22-105-teaching-health-center-graduate-medical-education-thcgme/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/334336

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 85 awards worth $45.9 million in total. Applications closed on September 21, 2021.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-22-105 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | September 21, 2021 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 85 |
| Total funding | $45.9 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.530 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

An eligible entity is a community-based ambulatory patient care center that: i. Operates an accredited primary care residency program. Specific examples of eligible outpatient settings include, but are not limited to: • Federally qualified health centers, as defined in section 1905(l)(2)(B) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1396d(l)(2)(B)]; • Community mental health centers, as defined in section 1861(ff)(3)(B) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1395x(ff)(3)(B)]; • Rural health clinics, as defined in section 1861(aa)(2) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1395x(aa)(2)]; • Health centers operated by the Indian Health service, an Indian tribe or tribal organization, or an urban Indian organization (as defined in section 4 of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act [25 U.S.C. 1603]); and • A community-based entity receiving funds under Title X of the PHS Act.

## What the grant funds

The purpose of the THCGME Program is to support the training of residents in primary care residency training programs in community-based ambulatory patient care centers. Programs will prepare residents to provide high quality care, particularly in rural and underserved communities, and develop competencies to serve these diverse populations and communities. Two award types are available: 1. Expansion awards for an expanded number of resident FTE positions at existing HRSA THCGME Programs. 2. New awards to support new resident FTE positions at new Teaching Health Centers (THCs), as funding permits. New THCs are those applicants that have never received payment under the HRSA THCGME Program for the applicable residency program in any previous fiscal year (FY). Awards made through this announcement may be utilized to support the costs associated with resident FTE training only. THCGME Program funds may not be used for residency program development (e.g. the costs associated with accreditation). Applicants interested in applying for development funds to achieve accreditation to begin a new community-based primary care residency program should refer to the FY 2021 Teaching Health Center Planning and Development (THCPD) NOFO (HRSA-21-138), which is accessible via Grants.gov.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-22-105 still open?

No. It closed on September 21, 2021. A newer notice is open: HRSA-27-017, closes December 11, 2026 (34 days left).

### Who can apply for Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program?

Closed September 21, 2021. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $45.9 million in total across about 85 awards.

### Who has won Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education Payment grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Wright Center for Graduate Medical Education, Osteopathic Medical Education Consortium of Oklahoma, Inc, Detroit Wayne County Health Authority. The program made 335 awards worth $966 million in that time.
