# Area Health Education Centers Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-22-053-area-health-education-centers-program/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/334468

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to colleges and universities and tribes. It expected to make about 55 awards worth $43.3 million in total. Applications closed on April 6, 2022.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-22-053 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | April 6, 2022 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 55 |
| Total funding | $43.3 million |
| Cost sharing | required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.107 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Entities eligible to apply are public or nonprofit private accredited schools of allopathic medicine or osteopathic medicine, an incorporated consortia made up of such schools, or the parent institution(s) of such schools. In states and territories in which no AHEC Program is in operation, an accredited school of nursing is an eligible applicant. AHEC Requirements in Sections 751(d)(2)(A) and 751(d)(2)(B) of the PHS Act For FY 2022, the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 (Public Law 116-260) gave the Secretary authority to grant a waiver of the AHEC requirements under sections 751(d)(2)(A) and 751(d)(2)(B) of the PHS Act13 to programs meeting certain requirements, including that the program must have been operating under section 751 of the PHS Act on or before January 1, 2009. Applicants seeking a waiver must submit their request with their grant application. Decisions regarding the waiver requests are contingent upon extension of the Secretary’s waiver authority for FY 2022 and HRSA administrative review of each waiver request. For instructions, please see Attachment 9. Foreign entities are not eligible for these awards.

## What the grant funds

This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) Program. The purpose of the AHEC Program is to develop and enhance education and training networks within communities, academic institutions, and community-based organizations. In turn, these networks seek to increase diversity among health professionals, broaden the distribution of the health workforce, enhance health care quality, and improve health care delivery to rural and underserved areas and populations.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-22-053 still open?

No. It closed on April 6, 2022.

### Who can apply for Area Health Education Centers Program?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from colleges and universities and tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Area Health Education Centers Program?

Closed April 6, 2022. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $43.3 million in total across about 55 awards.

### Who has won Area Health Education Centers grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were University of Hawaii, The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco, The Research Foundation for the State University of New York. The program made 51 awards worth $212 million in that time.
