# Predoctoral Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health Dentistry and Dental Hygiene

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-22-045-predoctoral-training-in-general-pediatric-and-public-health/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/334449

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 15 awards worth $4.5 million in total. Applications closed on February 7, 2022.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-22-045 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | February 7, 2022 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 15 |
| Total funding | $4.5 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.059 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Eligible applicants include accredited schools of dentistry or dental hygiene, public or private nonprofits hospitals, or other public or private nonprofit entities which the Secretary of Education has determined are capable of carrying out such grants to plan, develop, and operate an approved professional training program in the field of general dentistry, pediatric dentistry, public health dentistry for dental students, dental hygienists, or other approved primary care trainees such as dental therapists that emphasizes training for public health dentistry. Domestic faith-based and community-based organizations, community colleges, as well as Tribes and Tribal organizations, are eligible to apply provided they are capable of carrying out grants to plan, develop, and operate an approved professional training program in the field of general dentistry, pediatric dentistry, public health dentistry for dental hygiene students, or dental hygienists, or other approved primary care dental trainees as defined in the NOFO. All training activities must be conducted by an accredited entity. Programs in the process of receiving accreditation may apply however; the applicant or partner organization(s) must be accredited by the Secretary of Education or by the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA). Applicants can propose to develop an accredited program; however, the applicant organization responsible for the training must be an accredited program by July 1, 2023. HRSA will check the CODA website for accreditation confirmation. Accreditation must be maintained throughout the remainder of the project period. Failure to maintain accreditation will result in the termination of award funding under this NOFO.

## What the grant funds

The purpose of this program is to improve the oral health of vulnerable, underserved, or rural populations by enhancing the ability of oral health care trainees’ (predoctoral dental, dental hygiene, other approved public health dentistry trainees) ability to care for populations and individuals with medically complex conditions, special and behavioral health care needs, and focus on patient-centered care, so that students gain a better understanding of the social determinants of health and their impact on oral and systemic health.

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-22-045 still open?

No. It closed on February 7, 2022.

### Who can apply for Predoctoral Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health Dentistry and Dental Hygiene?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Predoctoral Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health Dentistry and Dental Hygiene?

Closed February 7, 2022. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $4.5 million in total across about 15 awards.

### Who has won Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health Dentistry grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Trustees of Boston University, East Carolina University. The program made 108 awards worth $110 million in that time.
