# FY24 Newport News Transportation Center

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/fr-ccd-23-007-fy24-newport-news-transportation-center/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/354588

> DOT - Federal Railroad Administration offered grants of up to $1.2 million to state and local governments. It expected to make one award. Applications closed on June 9, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | FR-CCD-23-007 |
| Agency | DOT - Federal Railroad Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | June 9, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | $1.2 million |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 1 |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | required |
| Assistance Listings | 20.325 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

This is a Congressionally-directed grant to the Virginia Passenger Rail Authority (VPRA). VPRA is the only entity that may apply for this grant.

## What the grant funds

The Newport News Transportation Center Project (NNTC) is a $53 million dollar effort consisting of a 8,066 square foot Amtrak station with onsite turning wye, drop off loop, parking, ADA compliant boarding platform, bus loop and site amenities, and a service facility with a 3,000 square foot maintenance building with two 1,000 foot service tracks located approximately one mile from the main station located at 13200 Warwick Springs Dr. The project also includes approximately 2 miles of new trackwork, with approximately 1.5 miles of the tracks located in the CSXT railroad right-of-way, which will connect the two sites with dedicated Amtrak rail.

## Questions people ask

### Is FR-CCD-23-007 still open?

No. It closed on June 9, 2024.

### Who can apply for FY24 Newport News Transportation Center?

DOT - Federal Railroad Administration accepted applications from state and local governments. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for FY24 Newport News Transportation Center?

Closed June 9, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $1.2 million each.

### Who has won Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were National Railroad Passenger Corporation, California High-Speed Rail Authority, Springfield, City of. The program made 230 awards worth $2.2 billion in that time.
