# Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE)::Indian Education Discretionary Grant Programs: Native American Language Education Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.415B

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-112823-001-office-of-elementary-and-secondary-education-oese-office/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/351161

> Department of Education offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 4 awards worth $2.4 million in total. Applications closed on March 7, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-112823-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | March 7, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 4 |
| Total funding | $2.4 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.415 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. Eligible Applicants: The following entities, either alone or in a consortium, that have a plan to develop and maintain, or to improve and expand, programs that support the entity’s use of a Native American or Alaska Native language as the primary language of instruction in one or more elementary or secondary schools (or both) are eligible under this program:(a) An Indian Tribe. (b) A Tribal College or University (TCU). (c) A Tribal education agency. (d) An LEA, including a public charter school that is an LEA under State law. (e) A school operated by the Bureau of Indian Education (BIE). (f) An Alaska Native Regional Corporation (as described in section 3(g) of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (43 U.S.C. 1602(g))). (g) A private, Tribal, or Alaska Native nonprofit organization. (h) A non-Tribal for-profit organization.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Revised Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 7, 2022. Purpose of Program: The purposes of this program are to (1) support schools that use Native American and Alaska Native languages as the primary language of instruction; (2) maintain, protect, and promote the rights and freedom of Native Americans and Alaska Natives to use, practice, maintain, and revitalize their languages, as envisioned in the Native American Languages Act of 1990 (25 U.S.C. 2901, et seq.); and (3) support the Nation’s First Peoples’ efforts to maintain and revitalize their languages and cultures, and to improve educational opportunities and student outcomes within Native American and Alaska Native communities. Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.415B.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-112823-001 still open?

No. It closed on March 7, 2024.

### Who can apply for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE)::Indian Education Discretionary Grant Programs: Native American Language Education Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.415B?

Department of Education accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE)::Indian Education Discretionary Grant Programs: Native American Language Education Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.415B?

Closed March 7, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $2.4 million in total across about 4 awards.

### Who has won Indian Education National Activities (State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP) and Native American Language (NAL) grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were University of Hawaii, Little Wound School Board, Inc, Sac & Fox Nation. The program made 44 awards worth $34.4 million in that time.
