# Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE): Special Projects; Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.116J

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-111225-001-office-of-postsecondary-education-ope-fund-for-the/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/360851

> Department of Education offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 89 awards worth $167 million in total. Applications closed on December 3, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-111225-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | December 3, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 89 |
| Total funding | $167 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.116 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Institutions of higher education (as defined in section 101 of the HEA), consortia of such institutions, and other public and private nonprofit institutions and agencies including State higher education agencies as defined in 20 U.S.C. 1003(22). An eligible entity may submit only one (1) grant application under an area of national need as the lead applicant. An entity can be included as a partner in multiple applications. Note: The eligible entity may apply to all four (4) areas of national need as the lead applicant but must submit a separate grant application for each area of national need. Note: An applicant that is a nonprofit organization may, under 34 CFR 75.51, demonstrate its nonprofit status by providing: (1) proof that the Internal Revenue Service currently recognizes the applicant as an organization to which contributions are tax deductible under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; (2) a statement from a State taxing body or the State attorney general certifying that the organization is a nonprofit organization operating within the State and that no part of its net earnings may lawfully benefit any private shareholder or individual; (3) a certified copy of the applicant's certificate of incorporation or similar document if it clearly establishes the nonprofit status of the applicant; or (4) any item described above if that item applies to a State or national parent organization, together with a statement by the State or parent organization that the applicant is a local nonprofit affiliate.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on August 29, 2025 (90 FR 42234), and available at https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2025/08/29/2025- 16571/common-instructions-and-information-for-applicants-todepartment-of-education-discretionary-grantams. Purpose of Program: The FIPSE Special Projects Program provides grants to institutions of higher education (IHEs), combinations of such institutions, and other public and private nonprofit institutions and agencies, as the Secretary deems necessary, to support innovative projects concerning one or more areas of national need identified by the Secretary. This competition focuses on supporting four areas of national need—(1) advancing the understanding of and use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) technology in postsecondary education, (2) promoting civil discourse on college and university campuses, (3) promoting accreditation reform, and (4) supporting capacity-building for high-quality short-term programs. In order to support these four crucial needs, this competition includes seven absolute priorities under which applicants can apply: two priorities dedicated to advancing the understanding and use of AI in postsecondary education (Absolute Priorities 1 and 2), one priority dedicated to promoting civil discourse on college and university campuses (Absolute Priority 3), two priorities within promoting accreditation reform (Absolute Priorities 4 and 5), and two priorities for capacity-building for high-quality short-term programs (Absolute Priorities 6 and 7). The Department intends to award $50 million to advance AI in Education, $60 million to promote civil discourse on college and university campuses, $7 million to support accreditation reform, and $50 million for high-quality short-term programs.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-111225-001 still open?

No. It closed on December 3, 2025.

### Who can apply for Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE): Special Projects; Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.116J?

Department of Education accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE): Special Projects; Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.116J?

Closed December 3, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $167 million in total across about 89 awards.

### Who has won Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were University of Alabama, University of Vermont & State Agricultural College, Research Foundation of the City University of New York. The program made 955 awards worth $1.3 billion in that time.
