# Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA: American Indian Vocational Rehabilitation Services (AIVRS), Assistance Listing Number (ALN): 84.250R

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-110624-001-office-of-special-education-and-rehabilitative-services/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/356997

> Department of Education offered grants to tribes. It expected to make about 8 awards worth $4.0 million in total. Applications closed on April 7, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-110624-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | April 7, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 8 |
| Total funding | $4.0 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.250 |

## Who can apply

- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. Eligible Applicants: Applications may be made only by Indian Tribes (and consortia of those Indian Tribes) located on Federal and State reservations. The definition of ``Indian Tribe'' in section 7(19)(B) of the Rehabilitation Act is ``any Federal or State Indian tribe, band, rancheria, pueblo, colony, or community, including any Alaskan native village or regional village corporation (as defined in or established pursuant to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act) and a Tribal organization (as defined in section 4(l) of the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act (25 U.S.C. 450b(l)).'' ``Reservation'' is defined in 34 CFR 371.6 as ``a Federal or State Indian reservation, public domain Indian allotment, former Indian reservation in Oklahoma, land held by incorporated Native groups, regional corporations and village corporations under the provisions of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act; or a defined area of land recognized by a State or the Federal Government where there is a concentration of tribal members and on which the tribal government is providing structured activities and services.'' Under 34 CFR 371.2, the applicant for an AIVRS grant must be-- (1) The governing body of an Indian Tribe, either on behalf of the Indian Tribe or on behalf of a consortium of Indian Tribes; or (2) A Tribal organization that is a separate legal organization from an Indian Tribe. To receive an AIVRS grant, a Tribal organization that is not a governing body of an Indian Tribe must-- (1) Have as one of its functions the vocational rehabilitation of American Indians with disabilities; and (2) Have the approval of the Tribe to be served by such organization. If a grant is made to the governing body of an Indian Tribe, either on its own behalf or on behalf of a consortium, or to a Tribal organization to perform services benefiting more than one Indian Tribe, the approval of each such Indian Tribe is a prerequisite to the making of such a grant.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Revised Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 7, 2022. Purpose of Program: The purpose of this program is to provide grants to Indian Tribes to provide vocational rehabilitation (VR)services, including culturally appropriate services, to eligible American Indians with disabilities who reside on or near Federal or State reservations, consistent with such eligible individual's strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed choice, so that such individuals may prepare for, and engage in, high-quality employment that will increase opportunities for economic self-sufficiency. Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.250R. See correction notice https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2025-03-07/pdf/2025-03702.pdf SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: On November 6, 2024, the Department published an NIA for the FY 2025 AIVRS competition in the Federal Register (89 FR 88041). The Department is correcting the NIA by removing two selection criteria ( Quality of project services and Quality of project personnel); amending factors under one selection criterion (three factors previously under Quality of project services have been moved to Quality of the project design); adding one factor to Quality of the management plan; adding language in one selection criterion ( Quality of the project evaluation or other evidence-building) to conform with 34 CFR 75.210; changing the point distribution for the selection criteria section; and extending the deadline for transmittal of applications for the 2025 AIVRS competition.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-110624-001 still open?

No. It closed on April 7, 2025.

### Who can apply for Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA: American Indian Vocational Rehabilitation Services (AIVRS), Assistance Listing Number (ALN): 84.250R?

Department of Education accepted applications from tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA: American Indian Vocational Rehabilitation Services (AIVRS), Assistance Listing Number (ALN): 84.250R?

Closed April 7, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $4.0 million in total across about 8 awards.

### Who has won American Indian Vocational Rehabilitation Services grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Council, Inc., Northern Arizona University, Chickasaw Nation. The program made 138 awards worth $226 million in that time.
