# Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Safe and Supportive Schools: School-Based Mental Health Services (SBMH) Grant Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) number 84.184H

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-092925-001-office-of-elementary-and-secondary-education-oese-office/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/360667

> Department of Education offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 25 awards worth $180 million in total. Applications closed on October 29, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-092925-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | October 29, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 25 |
| Total funding | $180 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.184 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Eligible Applicants: SEAs, as defined in 20 U.S.C. 7801(49), or LEAs, as defined in 20 U.S.C. 7801(30), including consortia of LEAs.

## What the grant funds

October 28, 2025 PLEASE NOTE: On October 27, 2025, a Court in the case State of Washington, et al. v U.S. Department of Education, et al., 2:25-cv-1228-KKE (W.D. Wash.) issued a preliminary injunction (“Order”) regarding the earlier non-continuation of several grants in the Mental Health Service Professional Demonstration Grant (“MHSP”) and the School-Based Mental Health Services Grant (“SBMH”) programs. Please note that the Court’s Order does not impact the application submission deadline for the ongoing MHSP and SBMH grant competitions, and that deadline remains October 29, 2025 at 11:59:59 pm ET. Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on August 29, 2025 (90 FR 42234), and available at https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2025/08/29/2025- 16571/common-instructions-and-information-for-applicants-todepartment-of-education-discretionary-grantams. Purpose of Program: The SBMH program provides competitive grants to State educational agencies (SEAs)(as defined in 20 U.S.C. 7801(49)), local educational agencies (LEAs) (as defined in 20 U.S.C. 7801(30)), and consortia of LEAs to increase the number of credentialed school-based mental health services providers delivering mental health services to students in high-need LEAs. Assistance Listing Number: 84.184H.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-092925-001 still open?

No. It closed on October 29, 2025.

### Who can apply for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Safe and Supportive Schools: School-Based Mental Health Services (SBMH) Grant Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) number 84.184H?

Department of Education accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Safe and Supportive Schools: School-Based Mental Health Services (SBMH) Grant Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) number 84.184H?

Closed October 29, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $180 million in total across about 25 awards.

### Who has won School Safely National Activities grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Commonwealth of Virginia State Board of Education, RI Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, Iredell-Statesville Schools. The program made 586 awards worth $1.3 billion in that time.
