# Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Fund for The Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE): Postsecondary Student Success Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.116M

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-081222-001-office-of-postsecondary-education-ope-fund-for-the/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/343041

> Department of Education offered grants to colleges and universities. It expected to make about 8 awards worth $5.0 million in total. Applications closed on October 18, 2022.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-081222-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | October 18, 2022 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 8 |
| Total funding | $5.0 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.116 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. Eligible Applicants: IHEs that are designated as eligible to apply under the HEA title III and V programs. For institutions applying as a consortium, the lead applicant must be eligible to apply under the HEA title III and V programs. Note: The notice announcing the FY 2022 process for designation of eligible institutions, and inviting applications for waiver of eligibility requirements, was published in the Federal Register on December 16, 2021 (86 FR 71470). The Department extended the deadline for applications until February 18, 2022, in a notice published in the Federal Register on February 7, 2022 (87 FR 6855). Only institutions that the Department determines are eligible, or which are granted a waiver under the process described in the December 16, 2021, notice, and that meet the other eligibility requirements described in this notice, may apply for a grant under this program. To determine if your institution is eligible for this grant program please visit, https://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ope/idues/eligibility.html.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Revised Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 27, 2021. Purpose of Program: The purpose of this program is to promote postsecondary completion for students close to completion, whether for students currently enrolled in higher education, students who are no longer enrolled because of challenges they faced during the COVID-19 pandemic and close to completion, or both. Institutions may opt to supplement or expand evidence-based and data-driven activities to support retention and completion for both groups. This program aims to improve student outcomes, including retention, transfer, credit accumulation, and completion, by augmenting evidence-based activities that are already underway at eligible institutions of higher education (IHEs). Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.116M. SUMMARY: On August 12, 2022, the Department of Education (Department) published in the Federal Register a notice inviting applications (NIA) for new awards for fiscal year (FY) 2022 for the Postsecondary Student Success Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.116M. We are correcting the name of the program from Postsecondary Success Program to Postsecondary Student Success Program. We are also correcting the number of performance measures from five to four. DATES: This correction is applicable September 16, 2022. The Postsecondary Student Success Program technical assistance and pre-application webinar will occur on Wednesday, September 28 at 2:00pm (EST). To attend the webinar, please CLICK HERE.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-081222-001 still open?

No. It closed on October 18, 2022.

### Who can apply for Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Fund for The Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE): Postsecondary Student Success Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.116M?

Department of Education accepted applications from colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Fund for The Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE): Postsecondary Student Success Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.116M?

Closed October 18, 2022. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $5.0 million in total across about 8 awards.

### Who has won Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were University of Alabama, University of Vermont & State Agricultural College, Research Foundation of the City University of New York. The program made 955 awards worth $1.3 billion in that time.
