# OPE: HEP: FIPSE: Historically Black Colleges or Universities (HBCUs), Tribally Controlled Colleges or Universities (TCCUs), and Minority-Serving Institutions (MSIs) Research and Development Infrastructure Grant Program (RDI), ALN 84.116H

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-080223-001-ope-hep-fipse-historically-black-colleges-or-universities/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/349645

> Department of Education offered grants to colleges and universities. It expected to make $49.5 million in total. Applications closed on October 2, 2023.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-080223-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | October 2, 2023 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $49.5 million |
| Cost sharing | required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.116 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. Eligible Applicants: Eligible applicants are four-year institutions of higher education (as defined in this notice) that are HBCUs (as defined in this notice), TCCUs (as defined in this notice), and MSIs (as defined in this notice). Eligible applicants may apply individually or as lead applicants of a consortium with other eligible applicants and/or other partners such as an institution of higher education with an R1 Carnegie Classification, community colleges, or non-profit, industry and philanthropic partners. The lead applicant must be an eligible applicant under the absolute priority under which it is applying.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Revised Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 7, 2022. Purpose of Program: The RDI grant program is designed to provide four-year HBCUs, TCCUs, and MSIs including Asian American and Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISIs), Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions (ANNH), Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSIs), Native American Serving Non-Tribal Institutions (NASNTIs), and/or Predominantly Black Institutions (PBIs), or consortia led by an eligible institution of higher education (institution), with funds to implement transformational investments in research infrastructure, including research productivity, faculty expertise, graduate programs, physical infrastructure, human capital development, and partnerships leading to increases in external funding. For HBCUs and MSIs, the RDI grant program will support institutions in increasing their level of research activity in alignment with the Carnegie Classification designations. Grant funds can be utilized by HBCU and MSI institutions with a Doctoral and Professional Universities (D/PU) classification to move toward the Doctoral Universities with High Research Activity (R2) classification, and by Doctoral Universities with High Research Activity (R2) to move toward a classification of Doctoral Universities with Very High Research Activity (R1).

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-080223-001 still open?

No. It closed on October 2, 2023.

### Who can apply for OPE: HEP: FIPSE: Historically Black Colleges or Universities (HBCUs), Tribally Controlled Colleges or Universities (TCCUs), and Minority-Serving Institutions (MSIs) Research and Development Infrastructure Grant Program (RDI), ALN 84.116H?

Department of Education accepted applications from colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for OPE: HEP: FIPSE: Historically Black Colleges or Universities (HBCUs), Tribally Controlled Colleges or Universities (TCCUs), and Minority-Serving Institutions (MSIs) Research and Development Infrastructure Grant Program (RDI), ALN 84.116H?

Closed October 2, 2023. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $49.5 million in total.

### Who has won Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were University of Alabama, University of Vermont & State Agricultural College, Research Foundation of the City University of New York. The program made 955 awards worth $1.3 billion in that time.
