# Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Effective Educator Development (EED) Division: Teacher and School Leader (TSL) Incentive Program Assistance Listing Number 84.374A

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-070921-001-office-of-elementary-and-secondary-education-oese-effective/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/334602

> Department of Education offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 20 awards worth $88.1 million in total. Applications closed on August 13, 2021.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-070921-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | August 13, 2021 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 20 |
| Total funding | $88.1 million |
| Cost sharing | required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.374 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. Eligible Applicants: (a) An LEA, including a charter school that is an LEA, or a consortium of LEAs; (b) A State educational agency (SEA) or other State agency designated by the Chief Executive of a State to participate;(c) The Bureau of Indian Education; or(d) A partnership consisting of--(i) One or more agencies described in paragraph (a), (b), or (c); and(ii) At least one nonprofit organization as defined in 2 CFR 200.70 or at least one for-profit entity. Note: An LEA may receive (whether individually or as part of a consortium or partnership) a grant under the TSL program only twice. Note: The Secretary considers all schools funded by the Department of Interior's Bureau of Indian Education to be LEAs under section 8101(30)(C) of the ESEA. Note: If you are a nonprofit organization , under 34 CFR 75.51, you may demonstrate your nonprofit status by providing: (1) proof that the Internal Revenue Service currently recognizes the applicant as an organization to which contributions are tax deductible under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; (2) a statement from a State taxing body or the State attorney general certifying that the organization is a nonprofit organization operating within the State and that no part of its net earnings may lawfully benefit any private shareholder or individual; (3) a certified copy of the applicant's certificate of incorporation or similar document if it clearly establishes the nonprofit status of the applicant; or (4) any item described above if that item applies to a State or national parent organization, together with a statement by the State or parent organization that the applicant is a local nonprofit affiliate.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on February 13, 2019 (84 FR 3768),or at www.govinfo.gov/​content/​pkg/​FR-2019-02-13/​pdf/​2019-02206.pdf. Purpose of Program: The purpose of TSL is to assist States, local educational agencies (LEAs), and nonprofit organizations to develop, implement, improve, or expand comprehensive Performance-Based Compensation Systems (PBCS)[1] or Human Capital Management Systems (HCMS) for teachers, principals, and other School Leaders (educators) (especially for educators in High-Need Schools who raise student growth and academic achievement and close the achievement gap between high- and low-performing students). In addition, a portion of TSL funds may be used to study the effectiveness, fairness, quality, consistency, and reliability of PBCS or HCMS for educators. Assistance Listing Number 84.374A. [1] Throughout this notice, all defined terms are denoted with capitals.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-070921-001 still open?

No. It closed on August 13, 2021.

### Who can apply for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Effective Educator Development (EED) Division: Teacher and School Leader (TSL) Incentive Program Assistance Listing Number 84.374A?

Department of Education accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Effective Educator Development (EED) Division: Teacher and School Leader (TSL) Incentive Program Assistance Listing Number 84.374A?

Closed August 13, 2021. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $88.1 million in total across about 20 awards.

### Who has won Teacher and School Leader Incentive Grants (formerly the Teacher Incentive Fund) grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Harmony Public Schools, National Institute for Excellence in Teaching, Lansing School District. The program made 60 awards worth $462 million in that time.
