# Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education: Demonstration Grants for Indian Children and Youth Program (Demonstration program)-- Native American Teacher Retention Initiative, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.299A

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-052323-001-office-of-elementary-and-secondary-education-oese-office/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/348214

> Department of Education offered grants to state and local governments and tribes. It expected to make about 6 awards worth $2.8 million in total. Applications closed on July 24, 2023.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-052323-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | July 24, 2023 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 6 |
| Total funding | $2.8 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.299 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. Eligible Applicants: The following entities, either alone or in a consortium, are eligible under this program:(a) A State educational agency.(b) A local educational agency (LEA), including charter schools that are considered LEAs under State law.(c) An Indian Tribe.(d) An Indian organization. (e) A federally supported elementary school or secondary school for Indian students.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Revised Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 7, 2022. Purpose of Program: The purpose of the Demonstration program is to provide financial assistance to projects that develop, test, and demonstrate the effectiveness of services and programs to improve the educational opportunities and achievement of Indian students attending preschool, elementary, and secondary schools. Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.299A. On May 23, 2023, the Department of Education (Department) published in the Federal Register a notice inviting applications (NIA) for new awards for fiscal year (FY) 2023 for the Demonstration Grants for Indian Children and Youth Program--Native American Teacher Retention Initiative (NATRI), Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.299A. We are correcting the NIA to be clear that a Tribal college or university (TCU) is eligible to apply. All other information in the NIA remains the same. DATES: This correction is applicable July 14, 2023.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-052323-001 still open?

No. It closed on July 24, 2023.

### Who can apply for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education: Demonstration Grants for Indian Children and Youth Program (Demonstration program)-- Native American Teacher Retention Initiative, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.299A?

Department of Education accepted applications from state and local governments and tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education: Demonstration Grants for Indian Children and Youth Program (Demonstration program)-- Native American Teacher Retention Initiative, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.299A?

Closed July 24, 2023. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $2.8 million in total across about 6 awards.

### Who has won Indian Education -- Special Programs for Indian Children grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yukon-Koyukuk School District, American Indian Resource Center Inc, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma. The program made 295 awards worth $359 million in that time.
