# Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Rehabilitative Services Administration (RSA): Pathways to Partnerships Innovative Model Demonstration Project, Assistance Listing Number 84.421E

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-040523-001-office-of-special-education-and-rehabilitative-services/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/347303

> Department of Education offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 32 awards worth $224 million in total. Applications closed on July 7, 2023.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-040523-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | July 7, 2023 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 32 |
| Total funding | $224 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.421 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. Eligible Applicants: SVRAs and SEAs.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Revised Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 7, 2022. Purpose of Program: The purpose of the Disability Innovation Fund (DIF) Program, as provided by the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2022 (Pub. L. 117-103), is to support innovative (as defined in this notice) activities aimed at increasing competitive integrated employment (CIE) as defined in section 7 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (Rehabilitation Act) (29 U.S.C. 705(5))[1], for youth and other individuals with disabilities. For FFY 2023, the Department intends to fund multiple innovative model demonstration projects focused on the creation of systemic approaches to transition services for children and youth with disabilities (as defined in this notice). Ensuring that key agents of change and required partners (as defined in this notice) -- State vocational rehabilitation agencies (SVRAs), State educational agencies (SEAs), local educational agencies (LEAs), and federally funded Centers for Independent Living (CILs)--are actively collaborating to support coordinated transition processes is critical to the success of children and youth with disabilities. Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.421E. [1] This regulatory definition further clarifies the statutory definition of CIE found in the Rehabilitation Act. Competitive integrated employment means work that-- (i) Is performed on a full-time or part-time basis (including self-employment) and for which an individual is compensated at a rate that-- (A) Is not less than the higher of the rate specified in section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (29 U.S.C.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-040523-001 still open?

No. It closed on July 7, 2023.

### Who can apply for Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Rehabilitative Services Administration (RSA): Pathways to Partnerships Innovative Model Demonstration Project, Assistance Listing Number 84.421E?

Department of Education accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Rehabilitative Services Administration (RSA): Pathways to Partnerships Innovative Model Demonstration Project, Assistance Listing Number 84.421E?

Closed July 7, 2023. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $224 million in total across about 32 awards.

### Who has won Disability Innovation Fund (DIF) grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were CA Dept of Rehabilitation, Illinois Department of Human Service, Department of Aging & Disability Services. The program made 63 awards worth $672 million in that time.
