# for Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Institutional Service: Augustus F. Hawkins Centers of Excellence (Hawkins) Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.428A

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-040424-002-for-office-of-postsecondary-education-ope-institutional/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/353344

> Department of Education offered grants to colleges and universities. It expected to make about 27 awards worth $15.0 million in total. Applications closed on June 18, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-040424-002 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | June 18, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 27 |
| Total funding | $15.0 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.428 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. Eligible Applicants: Eligible institutions (as articulated under section 241(1) of the HEA) under the Hawkins Program include-- (i) An IHE that has a qualified teacher preparation program that is— (A) A part B institution (as defined in section 322 of the HEA); (B) A Hispanic-serving institution (as defined in section 502 of the HEA); (C) A Tribal College or University (as defined in section 316 of the HEA); (D) An Alaska Native-serving institution (as defined in section 317(b) of the HEA); (E) A Native Hawaiian-serving institution (as defined in section 317(b) of the HEA); (F) A Predominantly Black Institution (as defined in section 318 of the HEA); (G) An Asian American and Native American Pacific Islander-serving institution (as defined in section 320(b) of the HEA); or (H) A Native American-serving, nontribal institution (as defined in section 319 of the HEA); (ii) A consortium of institutions described in paragraph (i); or (iii) An institution described in paragraph (i), or a consortium described in paragraph (ii), in partnership with any other IHE, but only if the center of excellence established is located at an institution described in paragraph (i). Note: A consortium of institutions under this competition must follow the procedures under 34 CFR 75.127—75.129 in developing a group application. This includes developing an agreement that details the activities that each member of the group plans to perform and binds each member of the group to every statement and assurance made by the applicant in the application. This agreement must be submitted with the application.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Revised Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 7, 2022. Purpose of Program: The Hawkins Program, authorized under Part B of Title II of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (HEA), is designed to support comprehensive, high-quality State-accredited teacher preparation programs by creating centers of excellence at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Tribal Colleges or Universities (TCUs); or Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs), such as Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSIs). The Hawkins Program will help increase the number of, and retain, well-prepared teachers from diverse backgrounds, resulting in a more diverse teacher workforce prepared to teach in our Nation’s most underserved elementary and secondary schools and close student opportunity and achievement gaps. This program focuses on the various aspects of the teacher preparation pipeline, including the recruitment, preparation, support, placement, retention, and retraining of teachers for and in under-resourced schools to support underserved students. Through this program, the Secretary seeks to fund applicants that propose to incorporate evidence-based practices into their teacher preparation program. Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.428A.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-040424-002 still open?

No. It closed on June 18, 2024.

### Who can apply for for Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Institutional Service: Augustus F. Hawkins Centers of Excellence (Hawkins) Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.428A?

Department of Education accepted applications from colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for for Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Institutional Service: Augustus F. Hawkins Centers of Excellence (Hawkins) Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.428A?

Closed June 18, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $15.0 million in total across about 27 awards.

### Who has won Augustus F. Hawkins Centers of Excellence—Teacher Preparation and Development grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Iona University, College Unbound, Salish Kootenai College, Inc. The program made 29 awards worth $34.2 million in that time.
