# Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE): Indian Education Discretionary Grant Programs—Native Youth Community Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.299A

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-021822-001-office-of-elementary-and-secondary-education-oese-office/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/338081

> Department of Education offered grants to tribes. It expected to make about 40 awards worth $18.0 million in total. Applications closed on April 19, 2022.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-021822-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | April 19, 2022 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 40 |
| Total funding | $18.0 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.299 |

## Who can apply

- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. Eligible Applicants: The following entities, either alone or in a consortium, are eligible under this program:(a) An SEA.(b) An LEA, including charter schools that are considered LEAs under State law.(c) An Indian Tribe.(d) An Indian organization. (e) A federally supported elementary school or secondary school for Indian students. (f) A TCU.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Revised Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 27, 2021. Purpose of Program: The purpose of the Demonstration program is to provide financial assistance to projects that develop, test, and demonstrate the effectiveness of services and programs to improve the educational opportunities and achievement of Indian students in preschool, elementary, and secondary schools. Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.299A.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-021822-001 still open?

No. It closed on April 19, 2022.

### Who can apply for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE): Indian Education Discretionary Grant Programs—Native Youth Community Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.299A?

Department of Education accepted applications from tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE): Indian Education Discretionary Grant Programs—Native Youth Community Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.299A?

Closed April 19, 2022. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $18.0 million in total across about 40 awards.

### Who has won Indian Education -- Special Programs for Indian Children grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yukon-Koyukuk School District, American Indian Resource Center Inc, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma. The program made 295 awards worth $359 million in that time.
