# Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE): Indian Education Discretionary Grants Program: Demonstration Grants for Indian Children and Youth Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.299A

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-011725-003-office-of-elementary-and-secondary-education-oese-office/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/358298

> Department of Education offered grants to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments and tribes. It expected to make about 45 awards worth $20.0 million in total. Applications closed on May 8, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-011725-003 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | May 8, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 45 |
| Total funding | $20.0 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.299 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

3. Eligible Applicants: Under section 6121(b) of the ESEA and 34 CFR 263.20, the following entities are eligible under this program, either alone or in a consortium: (a) A State educational agency (SEA) (b) A local educational agency (LEA). (c) An Indian Tribe. (d) An Indian organization. (e) A federally supported elementary school or secondary school for Indian students (Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) or Tribally Controlled School). (f) A Tribal College or University (TCU).Note: Non-Tribal applicants who are in partnerships with Indian Tribes or Indian organizations should include in their partnership agreement, which is specified in Application Requirement (f), a description of substantial involvement from Tribes, with Tribal direction incorporated throughout the project period.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Revised Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 23, 2024. Purpose of Program: The purpose of the program is to provide financial assistance to community-driven projects that develop and share innovative services and programs designed to improve the educational opportunities and achievement of Indian students by addressing community-level challenges. Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.299A. Correction Notice Published 4/3/2025. Please see https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2025-04-03/pdf/2025-05721.pdf for additional details.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-011725-003 still open?

No. It closed on May 8, 2025.

### Who can apply for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE): Indian Education Discretionary Grants Program: Demonstration Grants for Indian Children and Youth Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.299A?

Department of Education accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments and tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE): Indian Education Discretionary Grants Program: Demonstration Grants for Indian Children and Youth Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.299A?

Closed May 8, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $20.0 million in total across about 45 awards.

### Who has won Indian Education -- Special Programs for Indian Children grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yukon-Koyukuk School District, American Indian Resource Center Inc, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma. The program made 295 awards worth $359 million in that time.
