# Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Rural, Insular, & Native Achievement Programs: Alaska Native Education (ANE) Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.356A

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-011222-001-office-of-elementary-and-secondary-education-oese-office/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/337299

> Department of Education offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 48 awards worth $36.5 million in total. Applications closed on April 26, 2022.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-011222-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | April 26, 2022 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 48 |
| Total funding | $36.5 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.356 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. Eligible Applicants: (a) Alaska Native organizations with experience operating programs that fulfill the purposes of the ANE program; (b) Alaska Native organizations that do not have experience operating programs that fulfill the purposes of the ANE program, but are in partnership with-- (i) An SEA or LEA; or (ii) An Alaska Native organization that operates a program that fulfills the purposes of the ANE program; or (c) An entity located in Alaska, and predominately governed by Alaska Natives, that does not meet the definition of an Alaska Native organization but-- (i) Has experience operating programs that fulfill the purposes of the ANE program; and (ii) Is granted an official charter or sanction from at least one Alaska Native Tribe or Alaska Native organization to carry out programs that meet the purposes of the ANE program.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 27, 2021 (286 FR 245), or at www.govinfo.gov/​content/​pkg/​FR-2021-12-27/​pdf/​2021-27979.pdf. Purpose of Program: The purpose of the ANE program is to support innovative projects that recognize and address the unique educational needs of Alaska Natives. These projects must include the activities authorized under section 6304(a)(2) of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, as amended (ESEA), and may include one or more of the activities authorized under section 6304(a)(3) of the ESEA, including, but not limited to, curriculum development, training and professional development, early childhood and parent outreach, and enrichment programs. Assistance Listing Number (ALN): 84.356A. On January 12, 2022, we published in the Federal Register a notice inviting applications (NIA) for new awards for fiscal year (FY) 2022 for the Alaska Native Education (ANE) program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.356A. Since that time, Congress passed, and the President signed, the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2022 (the Act), which provides funding for the awards under this competition. We are amending the NIA to provide, consistent with the Act, that the administrative cost cap in section 6205(b) of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) applies only to direct administrative costs for grants awarded using FY 2022 appropriations and to clarify that funds may be used for construction. This notice relates to the approved information collection under OMB control number 1894-0006. DATES: Deadline for Transmittal of Applications: April 26, 2022.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-011222-001 still open?

No. It closed on April 26, 2022.

### Who can apply for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Rural, Insular, & Native Achievement Programs: Alaska Native Education (ANE) Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.356A?

Department of Education accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Rural, Insular, & Native Achievement Programs: Alaska Native Education (ANE) Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.356A?

Closed April 26, 2022. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $36.5 million in total across about 48 awards.

### Who has won Alaska Native Educational Programs grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Sealaska Heritage Institute, Inc, Knik Tribe, Yukon-Koyukuk School District. The program made 102 awards worth $271 million in that time.
