# Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): International Foreign Language Education (IFLE): Fulbright-Hays Faculty Research Abroad (FRA) Fellowship Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.019A

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grants-010825-001-office-of-postsecondary-education-ope-international-foreign/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/357997

> Department of Education offered grants to colleges and universities. It expected to make about 15 awards worth $750,000 in total. Applications closed on March 10, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANTS-010825-001 |
| Agency | Department of Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | March 10, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 15 |
| Total funding | $750,000 |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.019 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

1. a. Eligible Applicants: Institutions of higher education (IHEs). Eligible faculty members at the IHE submit their individual research narratives and application forms to their home IHE representative, who compiles all research narratives from faculty and incorporates them into the grant application package that the institution submits electronically through the Department’s G6 system on behalf of all applicant faculty at that institution.b. Individuals Eligible to Receive a Fellowship: A faculty member is eligible to receive a fellowship if the individual--is a citizen, national or permanent resident of the United States; is employed by an IHE; has been engaged in teaching relevant to their foreign language or area studies specialization for the two years immediately preceding the date of the award; proposes research relevant to their modern foreign language or area studies specialization, which is not dissertation research for a doctoral degree; and possesses sufficient foreign language skills to carry out the dissertation research project.

## What the grant funds

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information. ﻿Purpose of Program: The Fulbright-Hays FRA Fellowship Program provides grants to colleges and universities to fund fellowships for faculty members seeking to improve their area studies and foreign language skills by conducting research abroad. The program is designed to contribute to the development and improvement of the study of modern foreign languages and area studies in the United States.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANTS-010825-001 still open?

No. It closed on March 10, 2025.

### Who can apply for Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): International Foreign Language Education (IFLE): Fulbright-Hays Faculty Research Abroad (FRA) Fellowship Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.019A?

Department of Education accepted applications from colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): International Foreign Language Education (IFLE): Fulbright-Hays Faculty Research Abroad (FRA) Fellowship Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.019A?

Closed March 10, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $750,000 in total across about 15 awards.

### Who has won Overseas Programs - Faculty Research Abroad grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Regents of the University of California, The Ohio State University, Trustees of Indiana University. The program made 28 awards worth $2.2 million in that time.
