# School Safety Enhancement

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/ed-grant-26-056-school-safety-enhancement/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/362570

> Office of Elementary and Secondary Education offered grants to state and local governments. Applications closed on July 28, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | ED-GRANT-26-056 |
| Agency | Office of Elementary and Secondary Education |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | July 28, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 84.184 |

## Who can apply

- State governments

State educational agencies (SEAs), as defined in 20 U.S.C. 7801(49).

## What the grant funds

The Administration for Children and Families at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is soliciting applications in support of the administration of the School Safety Enhancement (SSE) program on behalf of the U.S. Department of Education (ED) and the Secretary of Education (the Secretary). The SSE program provides competitive grants to State educational agencies (SEAs) to develop, implement, and strengthen statewide school safety systems and the physical security of schools. Estimated Range of Awards: $500,000 - 5,000,000 per 36-month project period. Estimated Number of Awards: 30. Project Period: Up to 36 months.

## Questions people ask

### Is ED-GRANT-26-056 still open?

No. It closed on July 28, 2026.

### Who can apply for School Safety Enhancement?

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education accepted applications from state and local governments. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for School Safety Enhancement?

Closed July 28, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### Who has won School Safely National Activities grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Commonwealth of Virginia State Board of Education, RI Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, Iredell-Statesville Schools. The program made 586 awards worth $1.3 billion in that time.
