# Tribal Colleges and Universities Planning for Clean Energy Transition - 2025

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/de-foa-0003402-tribal-colleges-and-universities-planning-for-clean-energy/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/361167

> Golden Field Office offered grants of up to $2 (at least $1) to any type of organization. Applications closed on January 21, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | DE-FOA-0003402 |
| Agency | Golden Field Office |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 21, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $2 |
| Award floor | $1 |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 81.087 |

## Who can apply

- Unrestricted (i.e., open to any type of entity above), subject to any clarification in text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility"

## What the grant funds

*Please note that this is not a new posting. Editing the dates in order to formally closeout the NOI.* This Notice is issued so that interested parties are aware of DOE’s intention to issue this FOA in the near term. All of the information contained in this Notice is subject to change. DOE will not respond to questions concerning this Notice. However, once the FOA has been released, DOE will provide an avenue for potential Applicants to submit questions. Through this planned Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA), the DOE Office of Indian Energy intends to provide financial support to Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs) to plan the transition of their campuses to clean energy. For purposes of the FOA, eligible Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs) must be (1) institutions of higher education located in the 48 contiguous United States or Alaska and be (2) defined and eligible based on the Tribally Controlled Community College Assistance Act of 1978 (25 U.S.C. § 1801(a)(4)), and the Higher Education Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. § 1001, et seq.), respectively, as follows: “Tribal Colleges and Universities,” for purposes of the FOA, mean institutions of higher education which are formally controlled, or have been formally sanctioned, or chartered, by the governing body of an Indian tribe or tribes, except that no more than one such institution shall be recognized with respect to any such tribe; including: Those institutions cited and eligible for funding under section 532 of the Equity in Educational Land-Grant Status Act of 1994 (7 U.S.C. § 301 note), any other institution that qualifies for funding under the Tribally Controlled Community College Assistance Act of 1978 (25 U.S.C. § 1801 et seq.), and Diné College, authorized in the Navajo Community College Assistance Act of 1978, Public Law 95-471, Title II (25 U.S.C. § 640a note). No recipient cost share is anticipated under the planned FOA. The DOE Office of Indian Energy envisions awarding multiple financial assistance awards in the form of grants. The estimated period of performance for each award will be approximately from two (2) to three (3) years. Under the planned FOA, DOE’s Office of Indian Energy anticipates making approximately $5 million available with awards that range from $100,000 to $250,000 for planning grants. The DOE Office of Indian Energy plans to issue the FOA late Summer 2024.

## Questions people ask

### Is DE-FOA-0003402 still open?

No. It closed on January 21, 2026. A newer notice is open: DE-FOA-0003647, closes December 1, 2026 (24 days left).

### Who can apply for Tribal Colleges and Universities Planning for Clean Energy Transition - 2025?

Golden Field Office accepted applications from any type of organization.

### What is the deadline for Tribal Colleges and Universities Planning for Clean Energy Transition - 2025?

Closed January 21, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $2 each.

### Who has won Renewable Energy Research and Development grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Oregon State University, University of Utah, Avapco LLC. The program made 900 awards worth $2.5 billion in that time.
